Browning Mill Pond/Roaring Brook – Richmond/Exeter

  • Browning Mill Pond/Roaring Brook – Arcadia Wildlife Management Area
  • Arcadia Road, Richmond, RI
  • Trailhead: 41°33’21.40″N, 71°41’6.94″W
  • Last Time Hiked: May 31, 2013
  • Approximate distance hiked: 2.4 miles
  • Easy.

Six days prior to this hike I was wandering around in the rain at Fisherville Brook and it was 48 degrees. This hike, it was a steamy and humid 92 degree day. An example of New England weather at its finest. I started this hike from the parking area and started heading for the beach area. Nearing the beach area I crossed into Exeter. At present no swimming is allowed. I then followed a gravel pathway which led to an abandoned parks building at the street. I crossed the street and followed a gravel road into the Roaring Brook area of the Arcadia Wildlife Management Area. Just before a gate there is a small parking area to the left. Walking through the parking area I came to a boardwalk the followed the edge of the Roaring Brook Pond. I found several species of birds, fish and frogs here. I then followed the boardwalk to the left. (The trail ahead is part of the North South Trail). I followed it straight, turning back into a trail, until I got back to the street. I then crossed the street and followed the access road ahead of me to the pavillion. Just to the right of the pavillion I found the first yellow blaze of the trail that goes around Browning Mill Pond and followed it to the right. The first half of this trail is fairly narrow leading through some heavily wooded area with some rather large stones. There is a section that is fairly muddy but there are boardwalks built in this part. About halfway around the pond the yellow trail goes to the right following a small brook. It then crosses the brook before coming to an intersection. Turn left at this intersection and follow it back to the pond near the waterfall. I then turned right and followed the trail past an area that was once a fish hatchery. I then continued on the trail crossing back into Richmond near a footbridge, before following the yellow blazed trail back to the car.

Trail map can be found at: Browning Mill Pond

Browning Mill Pond

Browning Mill Pond

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

