Snake Den North – Johnston

  • Snake Den North – Snake Den State Park
  • Brown Avenue, Johnston, RI
  • Trailhead: 41°51’20.18″N, 71°32’0.02″W
  • Previous Hikes: August 6, 2013
  • Last Time Hiked: August 17, 2014 
  • Approximate distance hiked: 2.5 miles
  • Moderate with some significant elevation
 

This hike was my second visit into the Snake Den State Park in the course of a week. Starting from a parking area on Brown Avenue I followed an old dirt road into the park quickly descending into a ravine like area. The trail narrowed slightly as the tall cliffs rose on each side. As I got to the bottom I came across some rock climbers scaling the face of one of the tall cliffs. I then continued on the trail until I came to a small open area of grass. A trail emerged on the left. I choose to take this trail. (The trail ahead would eventually head towards the southern end of the park.) I followed the trail through a rocky area that crosses a stream before turning right onto the next trail. This trail would then meander along a cliff for a bit. It would occasionally split before rejoining itself. At the top of the hill there is an overlook with a pretty decent view of western Johnston and Scituate. From this point I started back to the car occasionally wandering and exploring other paths. The trails are not blazed in this section of the path, so be careful to remember which paths to retrace. I did come across a lone deer on this hike who seemed keenly interested of my presence. This route was 2.5 miles in length.

Trail map can be found at: Snake Den North

View From The Snake Den Overlook

View From The Snake Den Overlook

Rock Formations

Rock Formations

    • CrossBow_Addict
    • November 3rd, 2013

    I hunt here In September Thru January with a Crossbow, Walkers and all users should wear Blaze orange during these months, even tho its not posted or required to do so I strongly suggest it…. Also please keep your dogs on a leash, You really don’t want your dog attacking a hunter who might choose self defense. It has happened to me and for some reason the owner of this dog turned it around as it was my fault, I pay for hunting tags and licenses to use this land, you walkers and trail freaks do not!! So hunting money is supporting this land!!! FYI!!

  1. Please note the information on hunting on the home page by scrolling to the top and clicking on “Trails & Walks in Rhode Island”.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

