Lincoln Woods – Lincoln

  • Lincoln Woods State Park
  • Twin River Road, Lincoln, RI
  • Trailhead: 41°53’13.93″N,  71°26’14.29″W
  • Last Time Hiked: December 25, 2013
  • Approximate distance hiked: 2.8 miles
  • Easy with slight elevation.
 
 

I decided this very cold Christmas morning to take a walk between gift opening and dinner. Still following doctors orders (for the most part) of no hiking I choose Lincoln Woods because of the loop road that goes around Onley Pond. Starting at a parking area near the beach I walked the loop road counter clockwise around the pond. Along the way I came across a small tree someone had decorated for Christmas. After the dam I came to an intersection. I followed the road to the left until I came to a sign for the Sunset Hiking Trails. I did venture off briefly onto a small set of trails that ran along the edge of the pond that would come back out the road again. I then followed the road to the left and back to the car. I will probably return here in the future to explore the off road trails further.

Trail map can be found at: Lincoln Woods

Unsafe For Skating

Unsafe For Skating

    • DIane Feather
    • December 29th, 2013

    Good description of the walk around the pond and it is worth going off the road and into the interior to explore. Good hometown memories.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

