Sakonnet Point – Little Compton

  • Sakonnet Point
  • Rhode Island Road, Little Compton, RI
  • Trailhead: 41°27’47.32″N, 71°11’42.96″W
  • Last Time Hiked: July 19, 2014
  • Approximate distance hiked: 1.5 miles
  • Easy, mostly a beach walk.

 

Sakonnet Point is the southern most point in Little Compton. It has long sweeping views of the Atlantic Ocean and is a haven for birds. There are several rocky islands just off the point as well as the recently restored Sakonnet Lighthouse. On one of these islands you can see the ruins of what was once the building of the West Island Fishing Club. This club was once visited by people of tremendous wealth and power including the likes of J.P. Morgan and President Grover Cleveland. There are some restrictions to this walk however. First, parking is rather strict in the area. I had come here using a walk described in the book “Bird Walks in Rhode Island”. The book suggested parking at the Sakonnet Marina. It is clearly stated on that property that parking is for members only. So we found a spot near the intersection of Rhode Island Road and Sakonnet Point Road. Secondly, the point itself is only open to residents of Little Compton (and their guests) from Memorial Day to Labor Day. Thirdly, if you plan on walking to the end of the point you should go at low tide. I would not suggest walking to the end of the point during high tide. And lastly, only the west beach (facing the lighthouse) is currently open to the public. Although the land above is a conversation area it is off limits due to the fragile habitats of the birds. From the car, we started this walk by walking down Rhode Island Road to its dead end. Here there is a trailhead that leads to the rocky beach. After a few hundred feet a path opens up through the ocean-side shrubs. We followed this path for a bit before making our way down to the sandy beach. From here we walked to the end of the point with waves coming up on both sides. From this point we had a spectacular view of the Little Compton and Westport shoreline to the east, the rocky islands and lighthouse to the west, and the long strand of beach the makes up Sakonnet Point to the north. We came across several birds here including cardinals, goldfinches, cormorants, as well as seagulls. We then retraced our steps back to the car.

I did not find a trail map on-line.

Sakonnet Light From The Point.

Sakonnet Light From The Point.

  1. Hello. Just found your blog while searching “Rhode Island Rd” and “Sakonnet Light”. Last year,I spent a few days wandering the coast looking for places to photograph. In my search,I found the entrance you speak of here,at the end of Rhode Island Rd. There was a sign here that indicated something to the effect of town residents only. Is there any way to legally access the area to photograph the light,and surrounding coastline ? I was able to make a few images from around the Sakonnet Point Club area.

    • The last I researched it (2014) the point is “Residents of Little Compton Only” from Memorial Day to Labor Day. In fact, at the time of my visit, there was a volunteer monitoring the access to the beach. Unless the rules have changed, as far as I know, you should be fine this time of year.

      • Thank you both for the information. I looked in my photo catalog for the date,and I was there on 9/6. One day before Labor Day ! There was no one at the gate when I was there,but I played by the rules. I will have to visit again after Labor Day. I’m sure I could make some great images here ! Thanks again.

    • Andrea
    • February 7th, 2016

    Although I’m a resident and can go at any point, I notice that there is usually no one monitoring the entrance after 4:30 pm.This means that you can probably access this beautiful spot at late afternoon and, should you choose to stay, enjoy the west facing sunset.

Leave a comment